The Side Effects of Statins



ZocorReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
3.5 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/11/2005)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

Lowered cholesterol, but has a major side effect.. I've been taking 20mg of Zocor for over a year now - my bloodwork is terrific - my number is down to 198 - BUT, I noticed that my sex drive is totally gone - absolutely nothing.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 166 months ago (1/15/2005)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

Muscle Twitching and Spasms: what do to if you get This is a second generation drug more powerful than Mevacor (lovastatin) by the same company. Unfortunately I had muscle twitches with it. The spasms started within a couple days of therapy. I also felt a nice all around "buff" feeling as if I'd been working out at the gym. After first I ignored the twitches, but they increased in frequency until they were occuring more than once per minute, all over my body, and around the clock. When I felt muscle pulling in my chest this scared the crap out of me!! I discontinued for fear of the known risk of muscle wasting and myalgia with this and other statins. I tried SIX different drugs in the statin family (Zocor, Crestor, Lipitor, Prevachol, Lescol, lovastatin etc) and had the same symptoms. Finally switched to a different family of cholesterol reducers, called fibrates. I was able to reduce LDL by 39% in the first 3 months using Lofibra (fenofibrate), exercise, and plant stenols without the muscle twitching. Click on my Profile for more info. After several days on a statin, if you notice increased muscle twitching or unusual soreness in muscles that never were a problem before, immediately get a blood test called a CK level. CK stands for creatine kinase, an enzyme that leaks out of damaged muscle into the blood. When CK levels are elevated in the blood, it usually means muscle is being destroyed by some abnormal process.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 168 months ago (12/6/2004)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

works for me I have been on Zocor for several years with no side effects. The lifestyle changes which I still try to maintain (low fat diet, keep weight down, exercise) did not work to keep my cholesterol down. I believe my high cholesterol is partly genetic; my father and all his siblings have high cholesterol. Zocor has helped lower and keep my cholesterol level low.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 168 months ago (11/18/2004)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

Works for me - No matter how much exercise I do and how carefully I monitor my diet, my Cholesterol numbers stay high. Zocor, which has no side effects that i can discern, gets my numbers down and now I understand it may also help prevent Alzheimer's.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 170 months ago (9/10/2004)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

I felt I was going to die. I have several health problems one of them being diabetic. I was put on Zocor as insurance over possible heart problems in the future. My cholesterol was good but my doc said it could be even better with the drug. After taking it for a few months my bad cholesterol did go down 2 points. I took the drug for two years. Before the drug I was working and exercising at the YMCA 3x a week. Felt pretty good. Very insidiously I started to deteriorate. It happens very slowly and you don't really connect it to the Zocor I thought the CFS and Fibro were getting worse but the doctors didn't seem to think so. I just went downhill so much so that one morning I was planning how I could get around better if I got a wheelchair and could have someone push me around on weekends, so that I could just get out. I came across an email on my diabetic list about statin drugs and how two other ladies were having severe side effects and had to get off of the drug. Their symptoms were the same as mine: debilitating unrelenting muscle pain, headaches, flu like symptoms. Felt like I had exercised for hours when all I could do is lay in bed, in pain. Constant traveling pain+++ You can't think right or express yourself properly (forgetting train of thought or words) muscle twitching, depression, faintness, paleness, clammy skin. Stopped Zocor in April '04 of my own accord. It's been 4 months now. I am now disabled. I cannot work at all. It was about three days after stopping the Zocor that the 24/7 muscle pain subsided to half the pain. I'm sure I've had muscle damage. I'm not sure how much of my good health will come back. I'm better in some ways but totally wiped out in other ways. I'm taking CO enzyme Q-10. Thanks to my aunt buying it for me. She was in the same boat as I was, so sick for so long that she thought she was going to die too.. she being older. I warned her about the statin she was taking. She's been off the statins for 3 months and SO happy. She's b

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 171 months ago (9/5/2004)

RatedZocorfor High cholesterolReport

Zocor - simvastatin - was my poison I stopped taking it after 3 months because of pain in the shoulders and thighs. The pain got worse, and worse, and worse. Couldn't lift a cup of coffee or hold a pen. Recovered finally 9 months after stopping. Now, having read and researched for months, do not believe your cholesterol level should be interfered with. Go to www.thincs.org and www.westonaprice.org before you take any of these statins and examine the flawed research. If you are suffering from the damage go to www.freewebs.com/stopped_our_statins/

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Statin Misinformation: Mayo Clinic Radio

Zocor Reviews
Zocor Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Zocor Reviews pictures

Zocor Reviews advise
Zocor Reviews recommend photo

Zocor Reviews pictures
Zocor Reviews foto

Zocor Reviews Zocor Reviews new foto
Zocor Reviews new pics

pictures How to Play the Goofy Gift Exchange Christmas Game
photo 6 Surprising Ways Alcohol Affects Your Health In Hindi

Alecensa
17 Tactics to Drastically Improve Communication in Relationships

How to Pray in Hindu Temples
How to Get Thicker Hair NaturallySource Evaluation Cheat Sheet

Five Hairpacks For Reducing Hair Fall In Hindi
17 Tactics to Drastically Improve Communication in RelationshipsThe Health Benefits ofTea

Watch Zocor Reviews video
Watch Zocor Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Zocor Reviews, zocor-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Zocor Reviews, zocor-reviews/ , zocor-reviews/

Related News


How to Cut Cast Iron Pipe
How to Prepare Garden Mulch
3 Delicious Ideas For Radishes
How to Be a Book Worm
How to Be Outspoken
How to Use Recovery Heart Rate for Fitness and Health
The 7 Smartest Ways to Cut Thanksgiving Calories
PRIVACY POLICY FOR LATEST-HAIRSTYLES.COM
FKA Twigs For Calvin Klein Jeans Is All Kinds Of Cool
10 Best Mascaras and Eyeliners for an Effortless Eye Makeup
5 Of The Best Men’s Watches For Autumn
How to Do Paper Embroidery



Date: 08.01.2019, 07:46 / Views: 93273